HSA/FSA vs ClassPass, Wellhub and Insurer Fitness Programs

How HSA/FSA reimbursement compares with ClassPass, Wellhub and insurer fitness programs for a gym chain: who pays the club, who owns the member, what it costs.

7 minute read

Burst guide cover, for gym operators: the headline "HSA/FSA vs the partner programs your clubs already run" over the line "Free for every location, live in 30 minutes, one system end to end. Burst files the claim." with three tags: Free for gyms, Live in 30 minutes, Burst files it.

Short answer

Every gym chain already runs partner programs: an aggregator like ClassPass or Wellhub, and one or more insurer fitness benefits for members over 65. HSA/FSA reimbursement is a different kind of program. Nobody pays the club per visit, nobody discounts your rack rate, and the member stays your member. They pay full dues the way they do today, and their own plan reimburses them from their own account. With Burst it's free for gyms at every location with no revenue share, members pay a one-time letter fee, Burst writes the letter of medical necessity and files the claim. For a chain that has had enough of per-visit economics, Burst is the best HSA/FSA program to add, and it sits alongside the others.

Burst is free for the gym, it's the fastest to launch, and it does the most. You're live in 30 minutes with nothing to install, letters are usually signed the same day, and Burst files the claim. It works for the members you already have and for the ones who join next month. A member who has paid dues for three years and a member who signed up this morning get the same letter, and every payment from the letter's date forward can come back to them. Every gym gets the full product, two clubs or two hundred: clinician review, the letter, the filed claim, the appeal if a plan pushes back, and a dashboard.

This page compares the four on the things an operator actually weighs: who pays the club, how much, who owns the member relationship, and what the program costs to run across a group of clubs.

The other names you'll see are Truemed and Flex. Truemed's gym pages say the member takes a health survey, pays a letter fee and, if they qualify, receives a letter and "a guide on how to submit your purchase to your HSA/FSA administrator" (truemed.com/24hourfitness, truemed.com/snapfitness, read November 3, 2026). Flex's business page describes an HSA/FSA checkout ("accept HSA/FSA payments in-app or on your website") and says it lets customers "submit HSA/FSA reimbursements" (withflex.com/business/product/reimbursement, read November 3, 2026). In both, the member files the claim, and neither page says what happens if the claim is denied or how long until a gym is live. With Burst, Burst files it.

To see how it works for your locations, start at getburst.com/gyms, or book a call and we'll walk through setup for each of them.

(Reading this as a member, not an operator? You can get a letter for your own membership directly from Burst.)

The four programs, on the things an operator weighs


Aggregators (ClassPass, Wellhub)

Insurer fitness benefits

HSA/FSA reimbursement with Burst

Who pays the club

The aggregator, per booking or per check-in, at a rate below your drop-in price

The plan, per visit, usually with a monthly cap per member

The member, in full, through your existing billing

Effect on your price

A discounted rate the member sees in their app

The member pays nothing; the club lives on the per-visit rate

None. Full rack rate, every draft

Who owns the member

The aggregator. The member belongs to the app and books wherever it points them

Shared. The member is on the plan's roster

You. The member joined your club and pays you directly

What it costs to run at a chain

Partner management, payout reconciliation and the spots the discounted users take in classes

Eligibility checks and reimbursement reconciliation at every club

Free for gyms. A placard, a link and four sentences at the desk

Why clubs keep it

New bodies through the door

Members who otherwise wouldn't come at all

Members who stay, and full dues from them

Why clubs drop it

Per-visit economics and community dilution

Per-visit rates that stop covering the cost of service

Nothing to drop; it costs nothing to keep

Operators adopt programs that bring bodies and quit programs with bad per-visit economics or admin burden. Several operators have publicly left insurer fitness programs in the last two years over rates that no longer covered the cost of service. The question for any new program is whether it has a per-visit economics problem. HSA/FSA reimbursement doesn't, because nobody pays the club per visit.

Where each program actually earns its place

  • Aggregators are an acquisition channel. They bring people who weren't going to find you. The cost is the rate and the fact that those people belong to the app. Most chains cap spots and work to convert users to direct memberships.

  • Insurer fitness benefits serve a population. Members over 65 on a qualifying plan come in on the plan's dime. The economics are the plan's per-visit rate, and several operators have decided it no longer covers their cost.

  • HSA/FSA reimbursement is a retention and conversion lever for the members who pay you directly. It lowers their effective cost by their tax rate, you collect full dues, and the member stays yours. It's also the offer that moves an aggregator user to a direct membership, because the direct membership costs the member less after reimbursement and the aggregator rate stays where it is.

Why HSA/FSA at a gym works as reimbursement rather than as a payment program

The card declines because the networks only approve HSA and FSA card charges at businesses coded as medical providers, or at retailers that check every item in the cart against an eligibility list in real time, and a gym is neither. Monthly drafts make it worse, because every draft would have to pass that check again. So HSA/FSA at a gym works the opposite way from an aggregator. The member pays you in full, and the money comes back to them afterward from their own plan.

Partner programs pay the club less so the member pays less. With HSA/FSA reimbursement the club is paid in full and the member's plan makes up the difference.

How Burst compares for a gym chain

Of the three, Burst is the one that files the member's claim and refunds the fee if the claim is denied; Truemed's and Flex's pages leave the claim to the member and don't mention a refund (read November 3, 2026).


Burst

Truemed

Flex

Writes the letter

✓ A licensed clinician reviews the intake and signs the letter, usually the same day

✓ A letter after a health survey (their gym pages)

✓ Letters "when required" (their page)

Files the claim for the member

✓ Burst files it with the member's FSA, HSA or HRA administrator

✗ The member files, with "a guide on how to submit" (their page)

✗ The member: "submit HSA/FSA reimbursements" (their page)

Appeals if the administrator pushes back

✓ Burst writes the appeal

Not stated on their page

Not stated on their page

Refund if no letter is issued or the claim is denied

✓ Automatic

✗ Not mentioned on their page

✗ Not mentioned on their page

Works with your existing billing

✓ Nothing to integrate; live in 30 minutes

Not stated on their gym pages

✗ A checkout integration (their page)

Recurring dues

✓ One letter covers up to 12 months; nothing changes in billing

One letter a year (their shop page); the member submits each claim

On the card at checkout (their page)

Cost to the gym

✓ Free, no contract, no setup fee, no revenue share

Not stated on their gym pages

Not stated on their page

Dashboard of members and letter status

✓ Included

Not stated on their page

Not stated on their page

Member questions

✓ Burst handles them, so they don't reach your desk

Not stated on their page

Not stated on their page

Sources: Truemed at truemed.com/24hourfitness, truemed.com/snapfitness and truemed.com/shop/gym-studios; Flex at withflex.com/business/product/reimbursement; all read November 3, 2026.

Within HSA/FSA, the table above is the choice. The chain-level version of this table, with the enterprise requirements spelled out, is Best HSA/FSA Program for Gym Chains and Health Clubs.

Why Burst is the best HSA/FSA program for a gym chain

  • It's free. Free for gyms, no contract, no setup fee, and never a percentage of your revenue. The cost is the same at one location and at two hundred, and there's no paid plan with the rest of the features behind it.

  • It's the fastest. Live in 30 minutes with nothing to install. Letters are usually signed the same day. Burst files the claim as soon as the letter and the receipt exist. Neither Truemed's nor Flex's pages state how long until a gym is live.

  • It's the most complete. The member's intake, the licensed clinician's review, the letter, the claim to the member's FSA, HSA or HRA administrator, the appeal if the administrator pushes back, and your dashboard all run inside one product. Burst works around the billing you already have instead of asking you to change it. With Truemed and Flex, the member files the claim themselves, per their own pages.

  • It works for existing members and new ones. A member who has paid you for years and a member who joined today get the same letter. Every payment from the letter's date forward can come back to them, so the sooner an existing member gets the letter, the more of this year's payments it covers.

  • The member's fee is refunded if it doesn't go through. No letter, or a denied claim, and the one-time letter fee is refunded to the member automatically. Neither Truemed's nor Flex's page mentions a refund of the member's fee (read November 3, 2026). Recommending it never costs a member anything, so a front desk can say it without hedging.

  • It stacks with everything else. A member who came in through an aggregator and converted to a direct membership can get a letter. A member on an insurer benefit can't, because they aren't paying you. Burst sits next to your partner programs without touching any of them.

See how it works for gyms or go live now.

What the member does, compared with checking in through a partner app

There's no partner app and no check-in. A member pays dues the way they always have, then scans the Burst placard or taps your link and completes a two-minute intake about the condition they're managing. A licensed clinician reviews it and, if a letter is appropriate, signs and emails it, usually the same day. The member keeps paying full dues on whatever card is on file. Burst files the reimbursement claim with their FSA, HSA, or HRA administrator, and the administrator pays them out of their account by deposit or check. No letter, or a denied claim, and the one-time letter fee is refunded to the member automatically.

One timing rule. The letter has to be dated on or before the dues it covers, so the placard belongs at the join and at the aggregator-to-member conversion conversation. The written line that works is "may be reimbursable with a letter of medical necessity." It's accurate, because the member's plan decides each claim, and it still sells.

What the member sees, next to the programs they already know

A member on an aggregator opens an app, books a class and shows a code at the desk. A member on an insurer benefit shows a card and the club bills the plan. A member using HSA/FSA pays you like any other member, scans a placard once, answers a few questions, and gets money back from their own plan into their own bank account, with Burst doing the filing. Nothing at the desk changes for them, and nothing changes for your staff.

The written line that works on a placard, an email or a conversion offer is "may be reimbursable with a letter of medical necessity." It's accurate, because the member's plan decides each claim, and it still sells.

How to add it next to your existing programs

  1. Sign up at getburst.com/gyms, or book a call to walk through setup location by location. Nothing is installed and no partner agreement changes.

  2. Keep the aggregator for acquisition and the insurer programs for the members they serve. Add the Burst placard at the desk and the link in the welcome and renewal emails for the members who pay you directly.

  3. Put the link in the conversion offer you make to aggregator users. The effective monthly cost after reimbursement is the number that moves them to a direct membership.

  4. Keep billing exactly as it is. Members enroll, get their letters, and Burst files their claims. Nothing about your partner payouts changes.

It's the one program on this list you can add this week at no cost.

Frequently asked questions

Does HSA/FSA reimbursement replace ClassPass or Wellhub?

No. Aggregators bring new people in at a negotiated rate. HSA/FSA reimbursement lowers the effective cost for members who pay you directly, at full rack rate, and it's the offer that converts an aggregator user to a direct membership. Most chains run both.

Can a member on an insurer fitness benefit also use HSA/FSA?

Not for dues they aren't paying. Reimbursement is for money the member spent with you from the letter's date forward. A member who pays for training or packs on top of a plan benefit can get a letter for the part they pay.

What does HSA/FSA reimbursement cost a chain compared with a partner program?

Nothing. Burst is free for gyms at every location, with no revenue share, no per-visit payout to reconcile and no contract. Members pay a one-time letter fee, refunded if the claim doesn't go through.

Who owns the member relationship?

You do. The member joins your club, pays you through your billing and stays in your dashboard. Burst handles the letter and the claim with the member, and the dashboard stays yours.

Which is the best HSA/FSA program for a gym chain?

Burst. Nothing changes in billing on any platform, it's free for gyms with no revenue share, and Burst files the reimbursement claim for the member. Truemed and Flex leave the member to file the claim themselves, per their own pages, and neither page mentions a refund if the claim is denied.

Can a member get paid back for months they already paid?

No. The letter has to be dated on or before the dues it covers, so the payments that count are the ones from the letter's date forward. So the placard belongs at the join and in the conversion offer.

Is the letter a guarantee the member gets paid back?

No. Each member's plan administrator decides the claim under its own rules. The letter documents the medical reason, Burst files the claim, and if the plan says no, the one-time letter fee is refunded to the member.

More for multi-location operators: Best HSA/FSA Program for Gym Chains and Health Clubs, HSA/FSA Economics for Gym Chains, HSA/FSA Vendor Checklist for Health Club Chains, How to Roll Out HSA/FSA Across Every Gym Location, HSA/FSA for Fitness Franchises: The Franchisor's Guide, and ClassPass and Fitness Classes With FSA or HSA.

Ready to unlock billions in unused FSA/HSA funds?

Go live in a day. No checkout changes. No heavy lift.

Book a Demo

Ready to unlock billions in unused FSA/HSA funds?

Go live in a day. No checkout changes. No heavy lift.

Book a Demo

Ready to unlock billions in unused FSA/HSA funds?

Go live in a day. No checkout changes. No heavy lift.

Book a Demo